Murdoch University

Murdoch University(University)Australia


Murdoch - Australia



MurdochAustralia  Australia

Murdoch University Art Collection was established in 1974 through donations of art. Inspired by this act of generosity the University purchased a drawing of Sir Walter Murdoch by Louis Kahan in the same year. In 1975, art collector and philanthropist Dr Harold Schenberg donated eleven significant artworks to the Collection including works by Ian Fairweather, Leonard French, Roland Wakelin and Margaret Woodward. During this time the University’s Senate established an Art Acquisitions Committee that was responsible for advancing the Collection. Through the 1970s and 1980s the Committee developed the Collection with donations and purchases of artworks by distinguished artists including Lloyd Rees, Jacob Epstein, Charles Blackman, Robert Juniper, Sidney Nolan and Tjapaltjarri Tim Leura.